English Amateur Billiards Association

EABA : The Amateur Billiard Player : Summer 2002

The Amateur Billiard Player : Summer 2002


Redcar & District League

The South Bank St Peters billiards squad of Neil Hutchinson, Mark
Wallis and Tommy Murphy won the billiards section, ahead of joint
runners up, Redcar Workingmen’s (Andy Mackay, Gillie Hartshorn
and Ron Bickerdyke) and South Bank Albion (Jeff McKeown, Trevor
Walker and John Hartley). The highest billiards breaks were made by
Darren Kell (141) and Neil Hutchinson of St Peters took the prize for
the highest break by a plus-handicap player (97) and the most wins
during the season.

The League Individual Handicap, the Darren Kell Billiards Trophy,
was won by Billy Bousfield of Eston Institute. In the final, Bousfield
(+100) had a 400-376 victory over South Bank Albion player John
Hartley (+80).

Teesside Boys Billiards League

The final stages of the Individual Championship for the Albert Hanson
Memorial Trophy, were held at Eston Institute on Wednesday 17th
April and Robin Wilson eased to his last title win, being excluded next
year due to age limitation. In the semi-final he overcame the promising
Craig Murphy 189-121 in their 30 minute game. Murphy making the
highest break of the match with 41. In the final, Wilson established an
early lead over Dean Richardson with breaks of 37 and 55 and thereafter
was never threatened. Richardson came back with a break of 36 but
could never quite get close enough to pressurise Wilson, who always
looked totally in control, the final score being 167-121 in Wilson’s
favour. Earlier, Richardson had defeated his Redcar team-mate Andrew
Fairley 137-100 in the semi-final.

(30 min)
Dean Richardson
137 Andrew Fairley
Robin Wilson
36, 36, 34
189 Craig Murphy
41, 34
(30 min)
Robin Wilson
55, 37
167 (9.3)Dean Richardson
124 (6.4)

The team from Ormesby made it a clean sweep of trophies this season
when they added the President’s Cup to their League Championship
and League Cup successes. Applying a handicap system based on
League positions, Ormesby conceded 150 points to Eston Institute in
the final. However, Robin Wilson immediately recovered this deficit
by winning his 30 minute game 297-38, including breaks of 170, 78 and
65. With Dominic Mulhall, Jason Thomas, Michael Price and Trevor
Snaith making it five wins for Ormesby out of the six games played,
they finished comfortable winners by 902-470.

Middlesbrough Friendly League

The Individual Billiard Handicap was won by Darren Kell (Ironopolis)(-
50) who defeated Mark Graham (Priory)(+20) in a nail-biting final at
the South Bank St. Peter’s Club on 25th April. Although Kell had
recovered his handicap with just over half the match completed, Graham
hung on and was within seven points of game when Kell snatched
victory with 29 unfinished. Final score Kell 200 (av 6.8) – Graham 193
(av 3.3).

The Ironopolis team comprising Geoff Charville and brothers Darren
and Gary Kell, finished at the top of the Billiards League with a
comfortable 16½ point margin over their nearest challengers, the
Hemlington club.

Lee Lagan (Hemlington) left it late in both the season, and his amateur
career, to take the League’s highest break with 118 which he made
against the Samualsons Club in one of the last games of the current
season. The previous high break of 117 unfinished had been held by
Lagan’s Team-mate, Mark Hatton. The League plays games of 120-up
from a level start.

Cleveland League

Veteran Keith Corner (Marske WMC) won the League’s Individual
Billiards Handicap, defeating the holder, John Hartley (Redcar Lit),
250-210 in an evenly fought contest at Carlin How Club on 23rd April.
Both finalists were playing from a handicap of -90.

In the Team Handicap, Redcar Lakes squad of Mark Andrews, Dave
Beckett and Gary Beckett took the England Cup when they defeated
Redcar Literary Institute by two games to nil in the final at Saltburn
Conservative Club on 15th July. A closely fought match saw Andrews
set his team on the path to victory with a narrow 200-193 win over
seventeen year-old Andrew Fairley (rec.45) and Dave Beckett then
clinched the title when he recorded as similarly close victory 200-190
over Barry Chapman (rec.15). The Lit´s third player, and anchor-man,
John Hartley, did not get the chance to play.

Stockton & District League

The Billiards section of the Stockton League was won by the Stockton
Buffs Club, represented by Steve Boston, John Stiff and ex-professional
snooker player, Paul Reeve. Highest break of the 120-up games was
113 by Tony Mackinder. The Billiards Knockout Cup was won by
Hardwick, who beat Newtown ‘A’ in the Final. Results (Hardwick
names first) Graham Alderson bt Mark Devlin, Mick Beevers lost to
John Hartley, Steve Maxwell bt Callum Robinson.

Southfield League

The Southfield League, which operate non-handicap billiards and
snooker games on Monday nights for clubs in the Middlesbrough area,
have become the first in the region to allow professional players to
compete. For next season they have introduced special rules allowing
one billiards professional per team who will be required to score 180
per game against the usual 120-up for the amateurs. Snooker
professionals will also be allowed to compete, conceding 21 points per
frame. This is expected to give a welcome boost to the game in the
region, allowing the growing number of local billiards professionals to
exhibit their skills on a regular basis.

Leave a comment

Contact Detail

You can contact us by clicking the button below we will do our best to return you email as soon as possible.

Policy and Rules

All our rules and regulations are available in the following section. Please click below for further details.


You can now apply for membership of the EABA online and pay for entry into all our tournaments.