English Amateur Billiards Association

EABA : The Amateur Billiard Player : February 2000

The Amateur Billiard Player : February 2000

The English Amateur Under 19´s Championship

Sunday 14th & 21st November – Fakenham & Teesside

Thirty-seven entries for the under-19 championship were arranged into two regional groups at Teesside and the Eastern Counties, representing the main centres for junior billiards in the country. All games were one hour duration.


Sunday 14th November

The Eastern Counties Area qualifying stage was held at Pot Black
Snooker Centre, Fakenham. The fifteen youngsters included three who
had also taken part in the under-16 event which was held on the same

Preliminary Round
Neil Attew 192 James Girling 170
James Chambers (50) 277 Nathan Mann 129
Fraser Adams 252 Robert Nash 125

England´s junior international player, James Chambers, was quickly
into action, posting the highest break of the day with a run of 50 in his
match against Nathan Mann.

First Round
Calvin Dawes 202 Neil Attew 136
Gary Lewis 194 Gavin Lewis 178
James Chambers 310 Darren Bensley 174
David Wells 225 Keith Sillis 111
Paul Gifford 175 Fraser Adams 169
Matthew Sutton w/o Andrew Thompson scr.

Matthew Sutton was awarded a walk-over when his opponent failed to
turn up. Following on from his high break in the previous round, James
Chambers added the highest aggregate of the day with his 310 points
against Darren Bensley. The closest match saw Paul Gifford edge out
Fraser Adams by just six points.

Qualifying Round
Gary Lewis (42, 41) 291 Calvin Dawes 96
James Chambers 295 David Wells 140
Matthew Sutton 245 Paul Gifford 155

Calvin Daws, who had already qualified for the under-16 event, failed
in his attempt at the double as he was overwhelmed by Gary Lewis,
who produced breaks of 42 and 41. James Chambers and Matthew
Sutton also managed comfortable wins, to qualify for the final stages.

Qualifiers : G. Lewis, J. Chambers, M. Sutton


Sunday 21st November

The Teesside qualifying stage was held at Rileys SC, Middlesbrough.
As he did last year, Allan Taylor travelled across from Liverpool, being
the only competitor from outside the immediate area.

Preliminary Round
Martin Shutt (48, 45) 390 Mark Coates 173
Jason Robinson 298 Danny Thompson 112

Martin Shutt, now playing with some success at the highest level in the
senior leagues, looked in a class by himself as he dominated his game
against Mark Coates. Jason Robinson, who has also represented his
club at a senior level this year, was also untroubled by the challenge of
Danny Thompson.

First Round
Anthony Peacock
248 Michael Price
Steven Hassack
280 Michael Evans
Robin Wilson
386 Allan Taylor
Michael Wright
212 Chris Appleton
Martin Shutt
402 Craig Murphy
Jason Robinson
243 Chris Hartley
Glen Blythman
234 Paul Thompson
Tony King
259 Billy Bousfield
Darren Clark
261 David Phillips
Baden O’Hare
w/o Lee Evans

Lee Evans was the only player not to appear, although Allan Taylor
almost didn´t make it, his driver having taken a wrong turn from the
motorway. Arriving ten minutes after the scheduled start, it was not the
best preparation to face the defending champion Robin Wilson, and
although he kept in touch for the early apart of the match, the heavier
scoring came from the champion, who drew away to win comfortably.
Martin Shutt was again in impressive form as he ran in over 400 points
in his allotted hour.

Qualifying Round
Steven Hassack
314 Anthony Peacock
Robin Wilson
93, 50
484 Michael Wright
Martin Shutt
296 Jason Robinson
Glen Blythman
270 Baden O’Hare
Darren Clark
267 Tony King
Photo of Qualifier: Martin Shutt (6k)

Qualifier: Martin Shutt
Photo of Stephen Hassack (6k)

Qualifier: Stephen Hassack

Robin Wilson had celebrated his 16th birthday on the previous Sunday
and now came within seven points of celebrating a century break against
Michael Wright. After several good recovery shots which had kept
him going when position seemed hopelessly lost, he eventually broke
down at 93 on a relatively simple in-off from hand. An additional
break of 50 helped him to a one-hour aggregate of 484, giving his
opponent no chance of recovery.

Martin Shutt was the only other player to make a break over fifty in the
qualifying round. His 57 just making the difference as Jason Robinson
ran him close for much of the match, eventually falling 44 points short.

Qualifiers : S. Hassack, R. Wilson, M. Shutt, G. Blythman, D. Clark

Contact Detail

You can contact us by clicking the button below we will do our best to return you email as soon as possible.

Policy and Rules

All our rules and regulations are available in the following section. Please click below for further details.


You can now apply for membership of the EABA online and pay for entry into all our tournaments.