English Amateur Billiards Association

EABA : The Amateur Billiard Player : February 2000

The Amateur Billiard Player : February 2000
CIU logo (5k)


National Individual Billiards

The entry of 27 for the CIU National Billiards
Championship was two less than last year, with
perhaps the most notable absentee being the 1998
Champion, Neal Rewhorn. With a total of £1,300
in prize money, this contest is the last to be
sponsored by Newcastle Breweries although arrangements have been
made for Newcastle´s parent company, John Smith´s, to take over
sponsorship next year.

The current Champion, Tony Mackinder, started his defence of the
title by travelling to the Northern Social Club where he overcame the
challenge of Jackie Sinclair. Mackinder made breaks of 80 and 75 in a
comfortable victory. Also in good form was Jack Hedley, who raced to
a massive 420 point victory which included a break of 104. However,
the highest break of the preliminary round came from Peter Shelley
with a run of 105. An additional break of 94 sealed his win.

Four of the preliminary round matches were unplayed with the tie being
awarded to the “away” player in each case. Paul Bennett, in anticipation
of his move to the professional ranks, conceded his match to Alf Nolan.

Preliminary Round
Jack Hedley
(Maidenhead Ivy Leaf Club)
500 Ivan Stevenage
(Nat. Ass. of Railway Soc.)
G. Hope
(Crewe Pioneer Anglers Club)
179 Maurice Chapman
(Selly Oak Inst)
Peter Shelley
(Ball Green W.M)
105, 94
500 M.A. Faddes
(Crewe Pioneer Anglers Club)
Bem French
(Boston Railwaymen’s Social)
500 P. Emerson
(Riverside Social)
John Ingleby
(Bradley & Colne Bridge Club)
500 Derick Townend
(Oaklands Mount W.M.)
Steve Best
(Billingham Social Club)
281 Geoff Charville
(Acklam Garden City Social)
Jackie Sinclair
(Northern Social Club)
319 Tony Mackinder
(North Ormesby Institute)
80, 75
F. Crawley
(Hayes W.M.C.)
scr. G. Lee
(Durrington W.M.C)
M. Downing
(Crewe Pioneer Anglers Club)
scr. P. Johnson
(Monks Road W.M.)
T. Matthews
(Riverside Social Club)
scr. M.A. Lowndes
(Crewe Pioneer Anglers Club)
Paul Bennett
(Acklam Garden City Social)
scr. Alf Nolan
(Western Social)

The sensation of the second round was not only the departure of the
Champion but also last year’s finalist! Tony James turned in a
magnificent performance to defeat Tony Mackinder by almost half the
game on the Champion’s own table!

Lee Lagan also made an unexpected exit at the hands of Geoff Charville,
who is highly regarded in the Teesside area but who has not, so far,
made a great impact on the national scene. A break of 109 helped
Charville to level the scores at 455 and at this point he took his
opportunity, running to game with an unfinished break.

Alf Nolan won the first of his nine CIU titles in 1953 and the most
recent in 1989. Playing in the tough Northern area, he almost caused a
major upset as he came very close to defeating the 1997 Champion,
Darren Kell. With Kell taking an early lead of almost 100 points Nolan
played his way back into the match levelling the scores at 360. He then
put together a run of eighty points to go clear, subsequently advancing
his position to just 5 points from game. Over eighty points in arrears
and faced with almost certain defeat, Kell responded in magnificent
style to snatch the game with his next two visits, each producing a
contribution in the forties.

Peter Shelley made two century breaks to overwhelm Sean Bean, and
with the elimination of Lagan and Mackinder, establish himself as the
one of the favourites for this years title.

Last 16
G. Lee
(Durrington WMC)
500 F.E. Page
(Swanley Junction WMC)
Maurice Chapman
(Selly Oak Inst)
500 Jack Hedley
(Maidenhead Ivy Leaf Club)
M.A. Lowndes
(Crewe Pioneer Anglers Club)
320 John Ingleby
(Bradley & Colne Bridge Club)
Simon Bean
(Riverside Social Club)
269 Peter Shelley
(Ball Green WMC)
109, 102
P. Johnson
(Monks Road WMC)
315 Bem French
(Boston Railwaymen’s Soc.)
Alf Nolan
(Western Social Club)
495 Darren Kell
(Acklam Garden City Social)
Geoff Charville
(Acklam Garden City Social)
500 Lee Lagan
(North Ormesby Institute)
Tony Mackinder
(North Ormesby Institute)
252 Tony James
(Throckley Union Jack Club)

Quarter-final Draw : Chapman v Lee; Shelley v French; Kell v Ingleby;
James v Charville.


1920 J. Jaye (Craghead Social)
1921 S. Parr (Abertillery Social)
1922 W. Charlesworth (South Elmsall)
1923 J. Dick (Heburn Social)
1924 J. Daley (St. James & Soho)
1925 C. Hudson (Heburn RAOB)
1926 J. Stephenson (Willington WMC)
1927 Roy Crookson (Leeds City Tramways)
1928 Howard Hayes (Thornes WMC)
1929 P. R. Hinton (Luton Social)
1930 L. Hall (Holbeck WMC)
1931 J. T. Welch (Stanley Empire)
1932 J. Larter (Thornhill Lees)
1933 No Contest
1934 J. Brindley (Barnsley Central)
1935 G. Ossington (Belgrave WMC)
1936 No Contest
1937 Gladney Hoyle (Thornton Lodge)
1938 J. Curtis (York INL)
1939 G. Ainsley (Tudhoe & Spennymoor)
1940 Tom Jones (Hatcham Liberal)
1941 J. Duston (Stanley Central)
1942 W. Veall (Moorthorpe Empire)
1943 S. Green (Moorthorpe Empire)
1944 S. Green (Moorthorpe Empire)
1945 Howard Hayes (Towncroft WMC)
1946 Tom Jones (Hayes WMC)
1947 Charles Jacques (Kettering Midland)
1948 Tom Jones (Hayes WMC)
1949 Victor Muff (Huddersfield Dyers)
1951 Reg C. Wright (Hinckley Regent)
1952 H. King (Hinckley Regent)
1953 Alf Nolan (Usworth WMC)
1954 Reg C. Wright (Hinckley Regent)
1955 Brian Simpson (Usworth WMC)
1956 Alf Nolan (Usworth WMC)
1957 Jack Lambert (Hillfoot WMC)
1958 John Sinclair (Ashington Excelsior)
1959 Roy Oriel (Mountain Ash WMC)
1960 John Sinclair (Ashington Excelsior)
1961 W. Ward (Ashington Excelsior)
1962 Alf Nolan (Blaydon & District)
1963 Alf Nolan (Blaydon & District)
1964 Norman Dagley (Hinckley Regent)
1965 Reg C. Wright (Hinckley Regent)
1966 Norman Dagley (Hinckley Regent)
1967 Alf Nolan (Blaydon & District)
1968 Alf Nolan (Blaydon & District)
1969 Alf Nolan (Blaydon & District)
1970 Norman Dagley (Hinckley Regent)
1971 Alf Nolan (Blaydon & District)
1972 Norman Dagley (Hinckley Regent)
1973 Roy Oriel (Mountain Ash WMC)
1974 Nip Wright (Skegness WMC)
1975 Norman Dagley (Hinckley Regent)
1976 Norman Dagley (Hinckley Regent)
1977 Norman Dagley (Hinckley Regent)
1978 Norman Dagley (Hinckley Regent)
1979 Norman Dagley (Hinckley Regent)
1980 Norman Dagley (Hinckley Regent)
1981 Norman Dagley (Hinckley Regent)
1982 Bob Close (Western Social)
1983 Bob Close (Western Social)
1984 Bob Close (Western Social)
1985 Bob Close (Western Social)
1986 David Edwards (Mountain Ash WMC)
1987 David Edwards (Mountain Ash WMC)
1988 Peter Gilchrist (North Ormesby Inst.)
1989 Alf Nolan (Western Social)
1990 David Edwards (Mountain Ash WMC)
1991 Martin Goodwill (Newport & District)
1992 Martin Goodwill (Newport & District)
1993 Martin Goodwill (Newport & District)
1994 Martin Goodwill (Newport & District)
1995 Martin Goodwill (Newport & District)
1996 Chris Shutt (North Ormesby Inst.)
1997 Darren Kell (Beechwood & Easterside)
1998 Neal Rewhorn (Hinckley Central)
1999 Tony Mackinder (North Ormesby Inst.)

Contact Detail

You can contact us by clicking the button below we will do our best to return you email as soon as possible.

Policy and Rules

All our rules and regulations are available in the following section. Please click below for further details.


You can now apply for membership of the EABA online and pay for entry into all our tournaments.