Jock McGregor

2018/19 Jock McGregor Memorial – Nathan’s One Mann Show

Sun 30th October 2018, Clay Cross, Derbyshire.

Nathan Mann received the Jock McGregor memorial trophy and a celebratory bottle of wine to celebrate his win and toast the memory of a great fan of billiards. Mann was solid throughout, in the final beating master cue maker and cue doctor Craig Fitzpatrick who earlier accounted for Rob Hall and in doing so they became locked together as joint rankings leaders. Jim McCann and Mark Graham made the semi final, losing to Mann and Fitzpatrick respectively. Hall made two centuries and a superb 350 break with a brand new cue.
In the plate, a late 80 break by Mat Jackson earned him the honours, accounting for York’s Jon Marwood, Eddie Duggan and Chris Mitchell being their respective semi final victims. This event was handicapped, the handicap being calculated according to previous ABC scoring performance. Results (some to follow) here.

2017/18 First Ranking Event – Jock McGregor Memorial – Hall Rise

Clay Cross, Derbyshire, 13th May 2017

The Rob Hall juggernaut carried on from monopolising the No.1 spot the previous season, with an emphatic victory in the 2017/18 first ranking event of the season, named in honor of someone with a very similar great love of the game – if maybe a slight gap in the standards achieved. Jock McGregor was a great character and supporter of Billiards.

Hall was unhindered by a handicap mark of -220 and made a superb top break of 408 in defeating Cornwall’s silver fox, Chris Mitchell in the final. Mitchell beat Chris Achilles in the semis, Brian Harvey was Hall’s semi final victim. Earlier, Hall made 168, 146, 179, 128, 108 and 202 breaks. As expected, the handicaps made for some tight games and one or two good results, Mark Hirst made a 145 break in winning his first game but Peter Clarke narrowly saw him off in the next round. Jim McCann made a return to form in winning the plate event, beating Mark Graham in the final, Peter Johnson and Steve Crosland making the semi finals.

Results are Here

Jock McGregor Memorial – Wayman beats Achilles

Clay Cross, Derbyshire, 15th May 2016

Jock McGregor was a great supporter of English billiards and his name lives on as the first event of the 2016/17 season is named in his honour. This is now a ranking event, with handicaps based on previous performances. This levels the playing field somewhat and some new names had good runs in the tournament.
Jamie Wayman took the title, knocking in some good breaks including a 119 from Chris Achilles who similarly had some good breaks with a highest of 96. Adam Clarke and Eddie Fielding were the losing semi-finalists.
In the plate, Peter Shelley beat Tony Clegg Steve Crosland and Denis Dawson the semi-finalists.
Chris Taylor had a 109 break, Rob Hall’s 162 was the days highest.
Full Results Here.

Jock McGregor Open Billiards Handicap – Gaye Jones Wins

Clay Cross, Derbyshire, 3rd May 2015.

Gaye Jones is the first ladies champion after beating the holder, Eddie Fielding, 388 points to 220 over the hours play.

Eddie Duggan beat Mark Hill in the plate final.

A good number of games went down to the wire with winning scores of 1 and 2 points in a number of games and a drawn game needing an extra ten minutes play.